Aaron’s Birth Story

I'm discovering that wherever an abundance of love goes, miracles tend to follow. So much love was sent our way during those hideously painful last months of pregnancy. I want to take a second to thank you, if you were one of those that said a prayer on my behalf. Really. Thank you. It's a special and sacred thing to have been on the receiving end of it all.

Along came July 8th. The long awaited day. I was so over being pregnant, I woke up with a huge grin on my face. The nerves didn't set in till it was time to get in the car and drive away.

We got to the hospital just after 8am. By the time we had checked in, been fed that oh-so-scrumptious hospital food, and been given my first mesoprostil, it was 11am. I was 3cm and already having very small but regular contractions (that I couldn't feel), when we checked in, so they did not give me pitocin, praise the heavens. That stuff is the devil, and I was concerned that if I ended up on magnesium again for blood pressure that the pitocin would make my life a misery. (Magnesium and pitocin cancel each other out). Anyway, once they gave me mesoprostil, we just had to wait. And here is how we passed most of the afternoon… playing Heads Up! Tom's dancing is the best 🙂

Literally nothing happened until dinner time. I started finally feeling the contractions just after I ate, about 5.45pm. And, yes, within 15 minutes of starting to barely feel them, the intensity increased ridiculously and suddenly, my blood pressure shot up. The nurses weren't yet showing their concern outwardly, but I was aware that the doctor had been notified. I was trying to remember my breathing exercises, and demanding an epidural. The nurse (who was awesome, Janine), recommended laughing gas because I was only at 4cm. I acquiesced to her advice. I'd never had laughing gas before. And oh my, was it hilarious! I was giggling (and then wretching) like crazy. Within 20 minutes the laughing gas wasn't cutting it anymore, and my blood pressure was getting dangerous, so they called for my epidural. The nurses were also whispering about bringing in the magnesium. I hate magnesium. It makes you SO thirsty. BUT I love love love epidurals. This epidural almost didn't happen though. Why? because my water broke! Janine checked me again, I was suddenly dilated to 8cm, my contractions were crazy, and the anesthesiologist couldn't get the silly beast of a needle in my back. She stabbed me 5 times trying to get that thing in! Yes, five times. Ugh. She said I was too skinny, therefore my vertebrae were too close together… yeah whatever…that was stressful. Anyway, finally it went in, and my body went numb just in time for me to push. In no time at all, I was at 10cm, and baby boy was basically swimming out by himself. He was born at 9.49pm. Remember, my labor started abruptly about 5.45pm.


Awesome, right? At least my body can expel babies efficiently. If only I could carry them efficiently too ha ha.

Joking aside, We are really grateful baby Aaron made it here safely. Having ICP and sciatica was literally the pits. Grateful for the angels (you know who you are Abbey, Sofia, Shannon, Keri, Dawn, Rachel, Celeste… and anyone else I have missed, I'm sure I've missed someone, sorry) that came to clean my house, walk our dog, watch my kids, bring us dinner… you guys literally lifted and carried us through one of the hardest times of my life.

Funny how most everything that is hard, ends up being worthwhile.

P.s. In the next day or so I'll be deleting my Facebook. So sign up to follow the blog or follow me on instagram if you want to keep getting sporadic updates on our lives. Now baby is one month old, I'll be starting school again tomorrow night. Not sure how this is all going to go. School, a 4yr old, a 2yr old and a newborn… I'm optimistic things will go well. And with said optimism, I will leave you with some more overwhelming cuteness of my offspring:

Penny For Your Thoughts...

