Finishing Uni

The Once and Future King , by T.H. White captures a fascinating perspective of learning and growing up. I’m sure you’re familiar with Arthur, affectionately known as ‘Wart’. Wart goes to Merlin, a little downhearted, and asks for advice on how to handle the ups and downs of life. Merlin responds “THE BEST THING FOR BEING SAD,” replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, “IS TO LEARN SOMETHING. That is the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honor trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then—to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the thing for you. Look at what a lot of things there are to learn—pure science, the only purity there is. You can learn astronomy in a lifetime, natural history in three, literature in six. And then after you have exhausted a milliard of lifetimes in biology and medicine and theocriticism and geography and history and economics why, you can then start to make a cartwheel out of the appropriate wood, or spend fifty years learning to begin to learn to beat your adversary at fencing. After that you can start again on mathematics, until it is time to learn to plough.” 

What a wonder the world is! I marvel whenever I take a moment to think about all that is out there to learn and do and know.

I’ve missed blogging. Things of greater import have been taking precedence. Like what? Oh, like unpacking. Like cleaning this new (to us), old, dirty house. Dust and animal hair were everywhere. Literally. Ever found a flurry of white cat hair in the hinges of your oven door before? Nope, me neither.

Image result for white cat hair in oven

Previous owners must’ve had a cat like this- courtesy of Google.com

Anyway, guess what. I have decided to finally finish university. YES. And thus, began taking classes recently. I’m loving every moment. I think that because I am being more disciplined with my time, the blessings of that are trickling down into most every facet of my life. My anxiety attacks have reduced significantly. I’m still able to work out and shower daily. I’ve even been able to paint the house after I finish studying! What a blessing. Tom, whose job is meant to have him home more, is still having him gone most weeks, Mon-Thurs. Which cuts into our time to be able to get projects done. Luckily, he loves his job, so that’s a plus.

I digress. I love that advice Merlin says to Wart. I truly believe that in my own Utopian world, I would be an eternal scholar, taking classes for fun, being surrounded by super smart people so that their genius might eventually rub off on me. That’s the dream! Hopefully, that’s what heaven is like 🙂  I’m grateful to the women around me who recently went back to school, and have been radiant examples to me that I could do it too. I’m grateful for my husband, who loves me ad infinitum, and was thrilled when I told him I wanted to spend X amount of $$ on finishing what I started so long ago. I feel extremely excited and honored. In England you can’t just take a 5 year break and then pick back up where you left off. So, thank you, America. It’s not going to be easy. I am planning on only doing school work once the girls are in bed. So, yes, it might take a while. Oddly enough, I’m not freaking out about it. It’s time you guys.I’m ready. And, when I finally graduate, y’all had better be front and center at my graduation ceremony 🙂

Image result for merlin and wart

 

One thought on “Finishing Uni

Penny For Your Thoughts...

