Deep Like the Rivers

I’ve known rivers:
I’ve known rivers ancient as the world and older than the
     flow of human blood in human veins.

My soul has grown deep like the rivers.

I bathed in the Euphrates when dawns were young.
I built my hut near the Congo and it lulled me to sleep.
I looked upon the Nile and raised the pyramids above it.
I heard the singing of the Mississippi when Abe Lincoln 
     went down to New Orleans, and I’ve seen its muddy 
     bosom turn all golden in the sunset.

I’ve known rivers:
Ancient, dusky rivers.

My soul has grown deep like the rivers.
Langston Hughes- The Negro Speaks of Rivers

What a blessing it is to be alive, at such a time as this.  The right to education. The right to vote.  Living without slavery. The accelerated development of technology… Seriously, how  far we have come in the last few centuries. Such richness, and ease our ancestors probably never even dreamed of.

Why am I thinking about this? Well, I finally sat down for a minute; kids are in bed, husband is on a plane, my phone is off; and,in a moment of peace,I started counting my blessings. Yes. I should do this more often. Counting my blessings AND counting my successes. Yes,I completed 3 loads of laundry yesterday. Yes, it’s all folded and put away. Yes, my kids are happy and I didn’t lose my temper with them today. Yes, I’m still working out 5-6 days a week and eating healthily. I feel wonderful.

You know what I heard today on a TV show? A 7 month sober drug addict said something like this (I wish I’d recorded it)…

“…the odds are never in your favor. In fact, the statistic for my recovery was 9% but if you fight every day, to be that statistic, you’ll make it.”

Wow.

Amazing, right?  Can’t you apply that sentence to nearly everything in life? The diet you keep starting, but never finish. That destructive relationship you can never truly let go of. The shopping addiction you can’t seem to control. Let’s be honest, the odds are never in your favor. Not until you have someone fighting in your corner. And, you know what? That someone needs to be you. Anyone else is a bonus. But, the most crucial person needed to conquer the challenge is YOU. No one else can motivate or control your actions. The desire for progression has to come from within. What power comes from giving yourself permission to move on and conquer those demons!

My take home from today? Live gratefully. Aim high. Never be a victim of your circumstances. You can do it. I believe in you. God’s got your back too, and His hand is reaching out, ready to steady you on your way.

Know the rivers.

 

 

 

Penny For Your Thoughts...

