Why I Blog

origin_4762384399

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.” —William Wordsworth

Someone asked me last week “Tash, I like your blog, but I can’t figure out why you blog?” I explained but figured that if she reads my blog and still didn’t know why I write, I may need to quickly address this to the masses.

tiw_header

1. I love to write– not only is it cathartic for me to lay my figurative pen to paper, but I used to be a keen English major before I switched to Speech Therapy. I still love to read and write (although my skills and finesse have deteriorated somewhat). Not only does blogging require love, devotion and commitment, I believe it has strengthened my discipline and resolve.

2. I am terrible at keeping a journal– I tried for years to keep a journal. Every time I started, I would fail a few weeks later. Every. Single. Time.

3. I believe everyone has a story worth hearing–  I believe in record keeping and that everyone has value to share with the world. I actually wish more of my ancestors had written journals because most of them lead very interesting/crazy lives. Blogging is my way of sharing my story, and hopefully spreading some light and joy along the way.

4. My readers– I have over one thousand of you who, for whatever reason, consistently read what I post on this blog. Your love and support are what keeps me coming back here. I thank you for your interest, comments and shares. Plus, perhaps now I have some accountability for my record keeping, and life story, I won’t fail! Which reminds me of a favorite quote: “Ye lift me, and I lift thee; an we shall both ascend together…”

Do you have reasons for blogging or writing? Do you agree with my reasons for sharing my stories and thoughts? I’d love to hear from you!

Penny For Your Thoughts...

