Being a Cork: Finding Hope

10590413_10154539435025371_2899111340738522189_n

The updates from the doctor ranged from “It’s good you came in tonight Ms. Davies, you could have died today with blood pressure like that.” To “if the medication does not have any effect or you develop pre-eclampsia, you need to be aware that we will have to terminate the pregnancy.” Eventually he said “looks like you are responding well, you are free to go home” …It was an emotional roller coaster.

I am starting to type, uncertain of how to give a positive synopsis of last evening’s events. I hope by the end I’ve put a positive spin on things because as I recollect in this moment, I am filled with great tension and anxiety. Before I continue, I need you to either be aware of my history, or understand that High Blood Pressure is notoriously known as the Silent Killer. It is the measurement of pressure on your artery walls, the higher the pressure the harder your heart and other organs have to work, which causes damage, weakness and if untreated, organ failure, or sudden death.

Saturday, I woke up with one of those headaches that didn’t go away with acetaminophen (the painkiller pregnant women are allowed to take). I ignored it till mid afternoon, when I was at Walmart, and saw one of the free Blood Pressure machines, and felt that checking it was probably a good idea.

I used one of these machines!

I used one of these machines!

I did. And the reading I got was incredibly high. I didn’t panic yet, but walked around the aisles and then took it again… The reading was even higher! Tears streamed down my face and I began to sob quite loudly. I called the advice nurse from where I stood, and she calmed me down immensely, advising that I came in to check the credibility of the machine’s reading. I left my shopping where it was, dropped off Elizabeth with some friends, and drove myself to the emergency room as calmly as I could.

Of course, my husband was on a plane to Paris, and was unable to be contacted- so there was some extra stress right there. As I lay in the hospital bed, time ticked slowly by, the updates from the doctor ranged from “it’s good you came in tonight Ms. Davies, you could have died today with blood pressure like that.” To “if the medication does not have any effect or you develop pre-eclampsia, you need to be aware that we will have to terminate the pregnancy.” Eventually he said “looks like you are responding well, you are free to go home.” It was an emotional roller coaster to say the least. It was very difficult not to dwell on all the ‘what if’s’ as time lapsed between one update to another.

You could say it is probably up there as one of the most fretful experiences of my life. However, I also have to say that had the feeling I was never alone- have you ever had that? Not an eerie bad feeling- but as though a good presence was in the room. Whether you believe in Guardian Angels, Family members watching over you, or what not, I am sure you’ve had an experience similar to mine. Whoever or whatever it was, it kept me from feeling completely distraught and alone- I was really grateful.

So, what have I gleaned from this experience?

bp7

Renewed Appreciation of Health– Not in a cheesy way. But I am ever so grateful the staff were able to get my Blood Pressure down. If this were 100 years ago, I would likely be dead or undergoing organ failure as we *figuratively* speak. Actually I would have had a seizure and died during child birth last time. Are you picking up what I’m putting down? Exactly. Modern medicine is a huge blessing.

hope-graffiti

Hope– The last few weeks I was feeling quite bogged down in the whole nausea/insomnia issue. I wasn’t really enjoying life, just enduring, and I often absorbed in my own problems. However, I had a realization after I left the hospital that the level of light and joy in life usually is relative to your trust in God, and your conviction that God’s plan for your life truly can bring you joy. Trials are never easy, but facing the future with as much sincere optimism as possible is hopefully one way to decrease my panic attacks, and just enjoy what I can, as I go through the next 22 weeks of pregnancy.

There’s a quote I like by an articulate man, Richard G. Scott “Some people are like rocks thrown into a sea of problems. They are drowned by them. Be a cork. When submerged in a problem, fight to be free to bob up to serve again with happiness.”  I’m really going to try be a cork. It’s possible that I will be in the Emergency Room again at some point, it’s probable that my nausea isn’t going to disappear overnight. But it is up to me how I deal with it step by step, moment to moment.

The Lord has said, “Be patient in afflictions, for thou shalt have many; but endure them, for, lo, I am with thee, even unto the end of thy days.” I hate getting preachy, but that scripture really gave me some comfort last night which is why I shared it with you. I’m really going to try and be a cork. I’m relying on you to buoy me up if I start to sink. And please reach out if you’re struggling yourself!

Here’s to living life with joy- Let’s do this 🙂

rock_and_wood_in_aquarium

 

11 thoughts on “Being a Cork: Finding Hope

  1. scrubgrub says:

    you poor woman. I hope that you have folks in your new ward that are able to be with you when things like this happen. Just someone sitting with you in the hospital while you hear all that is the emotional turmoil of pregnancy. I’ve got an MIA hubby too, so I get it and have had more than my fair share of support, If you don’t please NEVER hesitate to call. Also, are those blood pressure things not the best thing ever to the pregnant woman? Modern technology at it’s finest. I lived next to a CVS with my first pregnancy, and my OBGYN told me to just go in daily to check my blood pressure.

    • tashajonesdavies says:

      Thank you! I appreciate that. And yes there are some good people in the ward who I was happy to leave Elizabeth with and ask for help- thank goodness. That’s great you would go in and check it whenever you wanted. I might start doing the same! The body is so strong, yet so fragile sometimes. It’s crazy.

  2. Jenna says:

    I’ve been down that road with pregnancy and hypertension, it’s never easy especially when you are young and shouldn’t have it!! Glad everything is better, wishing you well.

  3. theemrsgordon says:

    I had the WORST headache the other day… my nose began bleeding and all. I called the dr and discovered I was able to take Tylenol. After I popped a pill, it began to ease up. I never got to check my pressure but I will definitely often now! I am glad everything worked out for you. Pregnancy is no easy feat. Im 21 weeks as of yesterday. Nausea has slowed down a lot so THERE IS HOPE! Im praying for u. 🙂

  4. Heidi says:

    Tash, I’ve been reading on early deliveries because of all my medical problems being pregnant. By the way, that nurse was not right in that they would have to terminate the pregnancy. They have actually delivered babies as early as 19 weeks that have survived, they have extreme medical help but they can make it. Technology in just the last two years has exploded in this area. I had pre-enclampsia with Delsen for about three months with no blood pressure medication. It is serious. Do not over-do it. I know that’s hard with an infant in the house, but it’s so important. Praying for ya!

    • tashajonesdavies says:

      Thanks so much Heidi. I’m so sorry for all your pregnancy issues. You are such an example of strength! I am going to research early deliveries if my appointment does not go well tomorrow… Maybe I will anyway because now I am intrigued! I tried really hard to take it easy yesterday and today. But it’s going to be hard. Do you blog??

Penny For Your Thoughts...

