Loving Your Post-Baby Body

“My mother… she is beautiful, softened at the edges and tempered with a spine of steel. I want to grow old and be like her.” -Jodi Picoult

Today, as I glimpse in the mirror, I am feeling older. I scrutinize the once unnoticeable crows feet around my eyes. When did they become more prominent?  “Surely, I’m too young for such craziness.” I think to myself as I quickly check for grey hairs. There are none, I let out a sigh of amusement and relief.

I step back, and realize I’m wearing pearls, an apron and a collared shirt. An outfit only feminine grown ups wore 60 years ago.

Image

My hair is neatly scraped into a plump bun on top of my head. Two wispy curls have escaped and rebel freely at the back of my neck. I have a smudge of flour on my face and shortbread dough in my fingernails. My 11 month old is playing by my feet.

The truth is, at the ripe old age of 24 I have no right to complain about being old. (Yes, many of you are rolling your eyes I know). Besides, what’s wrong with getting older?  It’s a privilege denied to many.

We women tend to associate only negatives with ageing. Being old isn’t beautiful according to the media. We are to look like we are 21 years old for the rest of our lives- so says the wrinkle creams, make ups, hair products, and everything else under the sun. We can apply these creams and lotions to the wrinkles, bumps and stretch marks on our bodies, but nothing can remove the stretch marks on our souls. So, my thought today is why don’t we simply learn to love our bodies instead? My hips are a little wider because I brought a human being into the world. No, my bladder will simply never be the same. My six pack is gone forever because my priorities are now to teach morals, common sense, the ABCs- do laundry- eat- sleep-repeat, instead of doing crunches… You get my drift.

Let’s simply take care of ourselves the best we can, and embrace the changes that child bearing, joy and sorrow imprints upon our souls. Real beauty depends on how we value ourselves.

“Wrinkles merely mark where smiles have been.” -Mark Twain

How do you feel about getting older or your post-baby body? Have you come to accept and love yourself despite all the changes? How do you think you can take care of yourself better and increase your self worth (despite the wrinkles around those beautiful eyes)?

apron photo

 

Tasha xoxo

One thought on “Loving Your Post-Baby Body

Penny For Your Thoughts...

