What Is Happiness?

I announced on Facebook recently that I’m starting to write a little book about Post Partum Depression. As I was recovering from PPD, I wrote down what made me happy and tried to do some of those things every day. I guess it’s a collection of thoughts or some type of freeverse poem. Whatever it is, I hope it helps you if you’re having a bad day:

Happiness is looking into the eyes of my child, being with my husband, laughing with my mother. 

Happiness is a  mindset and habit that I am capable of when my hormones subside.

Happiness is creating. Writing. Painting. Singing. 

Happiness is feeling the peace found in prayer. Joy found in music. Accomplishment found in consistency.

Happiness is being valued and appreciated. Sharing. Connecting with others hearts and minds.

Happiness is seeing the sunrise and hearing the ocean.

Happiness is looking up rather than down.

Happiness is service. Nurturing others.

Happiness is to love and be loved.

 

Cultivate it.

 

There’s a powerful post by a pallative care nurse that has gone viral recently. In the post, the nurse writes down the Top 5 Regrets of People on their deathbed.  Interestingly enough, they’re all about happiness and fulfilment.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

dying-old

With that in mind, what can you do to be a happier you, today?

Penny For Your Thoughts...

