Wardrobe Mistakes and How They Reveal Your Insecurities

Maybe I’m getting old, but when I have been out and about recently, I have been slightly perturbed by the crazy amount of people who  seem to feel comfortable dressing like this:

hormones_muffin

and this

rolls-of-stomach-flab

and this

mg_55401

People not dressing in a way that compliments their body shape.

Are these people really happy about how they are representing themselves?

I’m not going to get into the deep emotional why’s of people dressing how they do. The basic answer is that they either want the wrong type of attention from the opposite sex, or they hope that nobody notices them. Let’s be honest, both options scream insecurity.

When I see teenagers or kids dressing this way, a grimace usually flickers across my face. I blink, and I move on. Whereas, when I see people my age and older doing the same thing, it really hurts my heart. Not dressing nicely due to laziness is one thing (says the mum who often wears work out clothes Monday-Friday), however, what I’m getting at is dressing out of insecurity. Flaunting or hiding your body implicitly flouts Ms Chanel’s maxim:

headhigh

Like the person who’s always in work clothes, if you’re always in ‘Mom Jeans’ you might be overly identifying with motherhood and suppressing other parts of yourself, probably due to guilt or exhaustion. Both compelling reasons, yes.

Remember, you can be stronger than your excuses, if you choose to be. 

When Women (or Men), hate their bodies, they have low self esteem; and in my experience, the way they dress reflects that.

I talked to a friend about this topic, and she suggested that many women, due to pregnancy and having kids, have loads of insecurities that aren’t often addressed. Yes, the pregnant body goes through many bizarre and mysterious changes, and yes, the post-pregnancy body is rarely discussed… Except, of course when it’s blazed across the cover of trashy magazines; featuring an airbrushed celeb momma in a bikini, 

Unknown Kendra-Wilkinson-Post-Baby-Body

Today, I may break your heart, but I’m going to tell you the truth. Unless you have either:

A) A personal trainer

B) A wicked awesome metabolism

or  C) The guts and perseverance to control your diet and work out like crazy…

…there is no way you will ever look like Khloe Kardashian in that bikini.

tumblr_mjmchcqNW81rm49iao1_400

And yes, although you hope you look like this in your super cute swimsuit:

Deal of the Day 1 Beach Sexy triangle bikini $19[1]

You may really look like this:

aLVXt

But all is NOT lost. IF you take the time to invest in yourself. Join the gym. Buy that Jillian Michaels DVD. Start eating right, and for goodness’ sake go get yourself some clothes that make you feel confident and sexy, WITHOUT dressing like either a Hooker or a Nun. The key is to change gradually, but still push your comfort zoneUse your wardrobe to analyze who you are internally, look at your clothes, get some insight about the fabulous inner you and make the needed changes so your wardrobe reflects that!

Don’t be afraid, you’re totally worth it. Everyone that matters would agree with me on that. 🙂

Does any of this sound familiar? Do you think clothing is an outward expression of internal well-being? 

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Mistakes and How They Reveal Your Insecurities

  1. Tyneisha Fondren says:

    Sometimes I am guilty of this (not the dressing trashy part), but not wearing clothes flattering to my body. With 2 kids under 2 sometimes it’s just easier to be lazier that way, but you are right, it sends the wrong message. Great article!

    • tashajonesdavies says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Tyneisha. I understand totally, after writing this, I put make up on and wore a nice casual outfit, and when my husband came home he said “wow, you look gorgeous!” haha, can you tell it’s been a while since I didn’t wear anything but yoga pants & a t-shirt? Anyway, all the best with your family!

Penny For Your Thoughts...

