The Keys to Becoming Who You Want to Be

Someone I love very much once told me “Don’t fake it until you make it. Fake it until you become it!”

Faking it ’till you become it’, encapsulates so much. It means you’ve broken old habits and founded new strengths. How many people do you know can’t handle a compliment? They disbelieving retort “thanks, but that’s not true” or “oh, I just got lucky”. How many times have you responded this way when others people have complimented or congratulated you? Well, it’s time to start changing until you can see the good others see in you, and get to where you want to be. The why is because it’ll make you happier, more confident &successful. Here’s the keys of how:

Internalize success.  Sure, you may have been lucky, but the point is you did your part. Stop feeling guilty and start owning your victories! Internalize them. Enjoy them. Let them validate and inspire you to keep going.

Do the right thing at the right time. Often, doing the right thing at the wrong time leaves you frustrated and ineffective. Start your business, write that novel. Have the guts and dedication to invest in your dreams and aspirations. You only live once.

Stop saying “It’s the way I am, there’s nothing I can do about it.” People like this drive me crazy. Why? Because statistics say that a child of my circumstances should have amounted to nothing. And yet I landed myself a 4 year academic scholarship to University, now I’m a successful wife, mother, expat and entrepreneur. I have never let my past circumstances define my future and neither should you.

“Do or do not. There is no try” -Yoda

Without exploring your limits you will never realize your full potential. You could be the best player on your team and not know it if you never try your hardest. Take control of your situation. Like I said already, don’t just fake it until you make it. Fake it until you become it!

And last of all…Make your actions match your words.  Aligning these will be hard. It’ll take practice and commitment.  But nothing easy is worth having, right?  The results will be that you will become that person you have always dreamed of becoming. You will defy your circumstances. You will not only feel empowered but empower those around you.

What are you waiting for? Go change your world.

actions-and-wordsThoughts, questions or comments? I’d love to hear from you…

8 thoughts on “The Keys to Becoming Who You Want to Be

  1. pennystockadvance says:

    Thats a great post. Powerful and insightful. All to often we cage ourselves in others opinions that result in us not taking risk and identifying our true potential. The thought “what will people think if I fail?” has hindered millions of people- myself included. We hear and tell ourselfs all these limiting beliefs that when we do hear a compliment we dismiss it and never “internalizing” our success. We let failure instead of sucess become a habit all because we accpet that we cant do better.

    • tashajonesdavies says:

      What a wonderful statement, I agree 100% with you! Thanks for taking the time to stop by & comment. I hope this helps you and I both internalize success better in the future 🙂

  2. Nicole O'Neill says:

    I LOVE this, and it’s definitely something that I’ve struggled with in the past. Kinda of like when you get an academic award, and when going up to accept it you try not to smile. LIKE WHY DO PEOPLE DO THAT? WHY DID I DO THAT? Own it, man.

  3. Brianne Burr says:

    Hey, Tasha, I really appreciate your posts. You have a lot of wisdom and it’s a wonderful thing that you are so willing to share it. I really love the phrase you opened with, the one about faking it til you become it. And I definitely love your thoughts and ideas, those in this post and in the others you’ve written. You’ve inspired me! I wish you the best =)

Penny For Your Thoughts...

