Happy Anniversary Love

Doubt Kills

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity never faileth” – 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Today is our two year wedding anniversary! We are thrilled to be where we are, with our sweet daughter and new house we are just downright happy.

Finding a person to love is the ultimate treasure hunt. There’s been more poems, books, movies and songs made about it than anything else. It’s a commandment from God to love. It’s what every human being craves. Love really makes the world go round.

When Tom and I first got married, we obviously loved each other. However, since then our love has evolved. As newly-weds, sometimes we found ourselves not really understanding what the words “I love you” entailed. Sometimes one of us would be selfish- a silly financial decision or a sharp tone of voice would wound the other. We were saying “I love you” but those actions said “I love you but not as much as I love myself” and that hurt. It took time, work, and many honest conversations to get to where we are at today. Being married is weird as you have to be simultaneously independent and co-dependent. I’ve always been very independent so it took some adjustment.

What have I learned in 2 years of marriage?

I’ve learned that love in a marriage is special. Tom and I started dating 5 years before we got hitched, so I am a firm believer that marriage adds an extra Je ne sais quoi and strength to a relationship. If you nurture your marriage, your love grows until it fills up your entire heart and head: somehow changing and binding you in such a way that you can’t believe you ever lived without the other. Trials come and go but your partner in crime stays right by your side, just like they promised they would the day they said “I do”.

It’s crazy to ponder about how our relationship will grow over the next 10 years, 20 years, 50 years… I can’t wait! I’m so grateful to have an amazing husband. I can’t wait for Disney World trip in a few days… Stay tuned!

 

 

 

Penny For Your Thoughts...

