Leaving Your Comfort Zone

“Pursue meaningful adventures.”

Chris Guillebeau (Author; The $100 Startup)

 Honestly, I’m a nerd who would love to be in education forever surrounded by fellow nerds. I really came into my own at university. If you ever ask, I’ll talk your ear off about how much I love studying cadavers, and transcribing with IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet).  Since leaving Uni it’s been up to me to continue learning and exploring the World around me.

So what am I saying? 

Expanding your mind and talents should be a life long pursuit. This only happens when we leave our comfort zone.

Why? Because when you’re comfortable you aren’t progressing. You’re likely to be bored. You’re likely to dream but never do anything about it.There are many TED talks about this. The Bible talks about this in the Parable of the Talents Matthew 25:14-29 

Make a plan unique to your situation. Maybe you’re an introvert and the idea of going to that networking conference terrifies you. Maybe you’re shy and the fear of attention (good or bad) stops you from wearing make up. Maybe you dream of travelling but don’t want to be homesick so you’re not going to go. In each of these scenarios you’re going to need to leave your comfort zone if you truly want positive change.

Staying in your comfort zone is like being in prison.You have to break out if you want to grow. That’s where the magic happens.

Honestly, staying in your comfort zone is like being in prison. You have to break out if you want to grow. That’s where the magic happens.

If I had turned down my scholarship and never gone to University over 6000 miles from home, I would not have become the person I am today. I would never have met my best friend. Nor would I have met all of the amazing people who helped me discover who I am today. I wouldn’t be a marathon runner. I wouldn’t have been able to switch my degree from English to Speech Therapy half way through (you can’t do that in the UK).

Neither would I be able to really understand homesickness or relate to those who go through it. Nor would I have been open to moving to the US with my husband’s promotion in 2012.  If I had initally stayed in my comfort zone I would have missed out on some of the most defining adventures of my life. 

Yes, it’s natural to be afraid. But that’s not a good reason to postpone positive change is it? You only live once. I promise you that if you pursue meaningful adventures, you can- and will- blossom into someone you didn’t think possible.

To get what you’ve never had, you have to do what you’ve never done. Finish that diet. Travel the world. Go to that dance class. You’re more capable than you think.

 

One thought on “Leaving Your Comfort Zone

  1. Ashlyn Nuss says:

    And you would never have had so many music videos!! Hahaha. This is so true; well done. I feel the same; so many of my biggest adventures came from stepping out of my comfort zone. (Like walking down that hall with Adriane to ask to be your roommates! Haha). Yet I’m still so comfort zone oriented on my life! Why?? A good reminder to break out of it more 🙂 Love you Tash!

Penny For Your Thoughts...

