Getting Out of Bed. 7 Tips for when the Getting Gets Tough

images

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape from.”

Seth Godin (Founder; Yoyodyne Entertainment)

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Albert Einstein (Scientist and Nobel Laureate)

Every day begins with an act of courage and hope: getting out of bed. ~Mason Cooley (American Aphorist)

At some point each of the above has resonated with me and been up there with one of my”favourite quotes”. The first time I read that last one I scoffed “how could getting out of bed ever be an act of courage?” My theories on life and emotional fragility were very black and white. Cause and effect. Depression was some bizarre sadness that happened to other people, due to: lack of sun, period cramps, or lack of mental discipline. That’s honestly what I thought. Since then, however, my eyes were opened to see a greater spectrum. Here are 7 tips which have helped me get out of bed on my gloomy days:

1. Being Grateful –  I have talked about this before. But it’s scientifically proven. Click here. Let the thank you notes reign!

2. Reach Out Before You Need Help – Call your mum/dad/sibling/friend/therapist before you need it. Not all people or modes of support are created equal. Trust your gut. Seek out those who will validate your feelings rather than try solve everything for you.

3. Let Something Go– Whether it’s forgiving the idiot in the car behind you or indulging in a cathartic release. Do something relaxing for you. Write. Draw. Sing. Sunbathe…

4. Pray – I guess this one only counts if you’re religious. I am. So, I find a lot of solace from this. Click here for a quick video about faith and prayer.

5. Make Your Dreams Reality– Start planning your dream holiday. Reconcile with that one person. Doing this can really help you feel more whole and positive again.

6. Be Careful Where You Get Comfort – I’m talking about turning to things rather than people. Turning to food, sleep, or pills (or worse) never makes it better; merely prolongs your suffering.

7. Work Out– You’ve heard it before but I’m telling you again. If you have time to peruse this, you have time to drop and do 20 crunches. Taking care of your body is a crucial step to feeling better about yourself.

Disclaimer: If you have any type of serious depression please see your doctor. These 7 steps helped me get through my post partum depression, but may not work for everyone. If you think you need further medical help, I encourage you to go ask for it.

Penny For Your Thoughts...

