Love Makes the Ride Worthwhile

Valentine's Day Card to Hubby

Ssh, the hubby hasn’t seen this card yet! Idea courtesy of Pinterest.

Do the couples canoodling make you want to jump off a cliff? Or are you one of the smitten lovebirds? Hate it or love it, Valentine’s Day is here again. By the way, in case you aren’t wearing your glasses, the rhyming couplet of ‘thorny’ in the photo is indeed ‘Corny’. This is a child friendly blog, after all.

Due to the fact that I love all first kiss stories, chick flicks, flowers, dating stories etc. I really enjoy Valentine’s day. I really should have majored in Wedding Planning rather than Speech Therapy. Then, I could be just like JLO in that movie. To this day I still alphabetize my credit cards as a result of her character.

jlo

“You Smell Like Sweet Red Plums and Grilled Cheese Sandwiches”

 My better half, in response to my disappointment due to his apathy, once said to me:

“Nothing says ‘I love you’ like encouraging obesity, or  a mass produced poem written by someone else.”

He’s right. We shouldn’t only show our affection to those we love on this holiday. Neither should we only remember Christ’s birth at Christmas. Or only give thanks at Thanksgiving. Get my drift? Good. But let’s face it, sometimes we slack off; we fail to be consistent. Therefore, Valentine’s can be (in my opinion), a day where we can express gratitude and reach out to someone we’ve become lax with, whether that be a lover, friend, or family. Whomever you choose,  I hope you can have a laugh. Flowers and chocolates are nice, yes, but shouldn’t be expected. And, as Tom said, encouraging obesity probably isn’t the best way to show affection…

On the other hand, knowing my stance on the matter, Tom’s thought process now must be something like this:

If you are still feeling like this is all merely a cheap cliche, you could always Google your nearest Anti Valentine’s Day Party. I know they are becoming all the rage and there are a few in San Francisco this weekend. Last of all:

“Love doesn’t make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.” — Franklin P. Jones

Happy Valentine’s Day.

2 thoughts on “Love Makes the Ride Worthwhile

  1. Lisa says:

    I’ve always disliked ‘Hallmark holidays’ like Valentine’s Day: those that seem created just for businesses. And it’s a cruel holiday for those who are alone. I planned to be alone, to be a hermit in the woods, writing, surrounded by dogs. My husband sneaked up on me. He’s the romantic, and one who doesn’t need Valentine’s Day to remind him to value another. So we don’t do anything for Valentine’s day, and I don’t regret that or miss it. But I’d miss the tokens of affection the rest of the year. Now I live in the woods, with a couple dogs, but just not alone. Sometimes we get what we wish for and sometimes we get better than we wished for. Thanks for a nice Valentine’s blog post that made me smile and avoided being a syrupy cliche like many on this day.

Penny For Your Thoughts...

