Gratitude: The Science of Happiness

A lot of people say to me that I’m always smiling. Back when I took British Sign Language (BSL), my given name from the Deaf was “Smiler”. I have good days and bad days just like anybody else. Why do people still notice the smile over the bags under my eyes after Lizzy (and me) cried from dawn till dusk? Perhaps they do notice– if so, why aren’t they doing anything about it?

Amidst all of my post partum physical ailments and dietary restrictions, someone I (begrudgingly) had to be around a lot, asked whether I was attending an upcoming service activity. My reply was a mumbled “um, not feeling up to that just yet” but I remember screaming in my mind “Can’t you see,  I’m miserable! Don’t you care?”  

Eventually, I healed inside and out. That’s when I realized that any continued resentment towards that person (plus anyone else) was my fault. So, what did I do? I started trying to be more grateful. I prayed and complimented more often,  and you know what? I started feeling better almost instantly. Still skeptical? Watch this experiment about how gratitude really increases happiness. You will love it.

Penny For Your Thoughts...

